Elimination diet complete. Now what?

I’ve strictly eliminated grains, pseudo grains, dairy products, sugar, eggs, nightshade vegetables, beans, soy, legumes and brewers yeast from my diet for 4 weeks. My 30 days is up the day after tomorrow.

Now what? My hidradenitis supparativa didn’t get better after 4 weeks, it actually got worse, so I’m now in antibiotics and it is instantly all healing up. Boo. I was so hoping that tweaking my diet would solve it. Abx are just not a longer term solution.

So I’ve experienced many many positive wellness changes, but they are a bit more vague. In the first two weeks, I lost ten pounds, and in the third week, two more. Not any in the 4th week so I’m not sure if I’m ‘losing weight’ anymore or just really really slowly. I’m now at my pre-pregnancy weight. I lost a ton of bloating, especially after eating. That’s awesome. I started feeling much more rested and woke up easier after just 8 hours sleep, whereas before I could feel destroyed even after sleeping 12 hours. However that too has been slightly less noticeable in the 4th week as I’ve been feeling pretty exhausted after 9 hours until I drink coffee and do yoga. That could be because my sleep has been interrupted a bunch by the kids lately. Initially I thought my skin looked younger, but either I got used to my slightly better reflection or it was my imagination. I’m not sure.

And… I guess that’s it, in terms of positive effects from my elimination  diet. Now that it’s time to re-introduce food and record any changes, I’m not sure what negative effects I’m on the lookout for. Fatigue, bloating, and cessation of weight loss (I’m still over ten pounds overweight) or even weight gain? Like I said, I’ve been a bit tired waking up lately already this past week so I will have to be hyper aware to notice if it gets even worse or what. And i suppose dramatic bloating is clear cut. But the weight loss or lack thereof might be more cryptic. It has stopped anyway so I don’t know if it continues to stay stable is that because of the food or is my body just done losing weight until I stop breastfeeding? Obviously if I start to gain weight (horror!) that will be a sign that the food is not for me. 

So, yeah, kinda vague effects to be recording in my diary but I guess that’s what I’m doing very soon. I had hoped to be mostly recording HS reactions which are super clear cut, and the other benefits  or lack thereof just side effects. But that was not meant to be, I suppose.

What food first? And I think it is wise to try first to eat a small serving daily for a few days, then not eat it a couple more days to really know if I can handle a bit. Then I can attempt a big portion of it, in the same manner, to see if it’s dose dependent. If that goes well then I can embrace including it in whatever amount, but if part 2 goes badly then I will eat it in small amounts, I suppose.

I think the best to try first, are eggs. They are such a super food and I love em.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

